

This study examines the Central City area of Melbourne bounded by Spencer Street, LaTrobe and William Streets, Victoria Street, Spring Street and the Yarra north bank to the north, and the area of Southbank bounded by Clarendon Street, Whiteman and Power Streets, Grant Street and St Kilda Road. Parklands, open space and riverfront areas beyond this zone, including Docklands, have been excluded in order to focus on Melbourne's existing urban street life, and to make comparative assessments against the data presented in the 1994 *Places for People* study. The Southbank area has been extended to include the Arts Precinct and Southbank Promenade west in line with these areas' inclusion within the central business district as part of the Capital City Zone.

Study area 1993
Study area 2004