6th EUROMICRO/IEEE Workshop on Embedded and Cyber-Physical Systems

Call for Papers


ECYPS’2018 – the 6th EUROMICRO/IEEE Workshop on Embedded and Cyber-Physical Systems will be held in the scope of MECO’2018 – the 7th Mediterranean Conference on Embedded Computing, in Budva, Montenegro, June 10-14, 2018. Cyber-physical systems (CPS) are smart compound systems engineered through seamless integration of embedded information processing sub-systems and physical sub-systems. The vision of smart systems connected and collaborating through various interfaces and communication media to form the global Internet of Things (IoT) is not a science-fiction anymore, but is quickly becoming an actual reality. The smart collaborating CPS with important applications in virtually all economic and social segments will have enormous economic and societal impact. ECYPS’2018 mainly focuses on CPS for modern (mobile) applications that require high-performance or low energy consumption, as well as, high safety, security and reliability. It addresses the applications, specification, validation, architectures, technology, hardware, software, design methodology and EDA tools for such systems. Its target participants are academic researchers and teachers; industrial researchers, developers and decision-makers; and Ph.D. students. It gives an excellent opportunity to disseminate fresh research results from European, international and other R&D projects. The topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:

ñ advanced applications and case studies of systems in consumer appliances,  healthcare, personal assistance, environmental and safety monitoring, industrial and leaving-space automation, transportation, automotive, aerospace, aviation, energy generation,  communications, tele-operation,  control, robotics, infrastructure, etc.

ñ mobile, autonomous, wearable and implantable systems

ñ development platforms and tools for CPS

ñ deep-learning and AI for CPS

ñ application/software modeling, analysis, parallelization and mapping for high-performance and low-energy computing

ñ multi-domain modeling, analysis, synthesis, simulation, integration and validation of heterogeneous systems

ñ multi-objective and multi-domain optimization and co-design of heterogeneous systems

ñ advanced processors, MPSoCs, SiPs, sensors, actuators and MEMS for CPS

ñ sensor-based (distributed, networked) monitoring and control

ñ sub-system arrangement and communication in complex heterogeneous systems

ñ safety, security and reliability of complex heterogeneous systems

ñ IoT, and cloud, fog, dew and edge computing


Venue: ECYPS’2018 will be held in Hotel Budva**** (http://www.hotelbudva.me/) Budva (https://www.visit-montenegro.com/main-cities/budva/), Montenegro (http://www.visit-montenegro.com/).

Budva is a 3500 years old town located at the Adriatic Sea coast of Montenegro. It is a popular touristic destination. Budva’s main attractions are the charm of its Old Town, its beautiful natural environment, 35 clean sandy beaches, and proximity to many famous touristic attractions as Kotor, Boka Kotorska, Sveti Stefan, Dubrovnik, and several national parks. It is also a place of various cultural events, clubs and many restaurants with excellent mediterranean kitchen. Budva is well connected with European cities by sea, road, air and train.


Submission of papers: Prospective authors are invited to submit full-length, four-page papers, strictly according to the IEEE Conference Standards and via http://embeddedcomputing.me.


Conference quality: Conference content will be submitted for inclusion into IEEE Xplore as well as other Abstracting and Indexing (A&I) databases. In particular, ECYPS is covered by SCOPUS, Web of Science, Google Scholar, Research Gate, etc. Extended versions of selected papers from ECYPS will be published in the Elsevier/Euromicro journal of Microprocessors and Microsystems(MICPRO) having the 2016 Impact Factor as high as 1.025.


Accompanying events: ECYPS’2018 will be held in the scope of MECO’2018 (the 7th Mediterranean Conference on Embedded Computing) which will host several special sessions, workshops and dissemination of international projects. Proposals of accompanying workshops/sessions/dissemination should be submitted to Radovan Stojanović (stox@ac.me).


Important Deadlines:

January 28, 2018, Paper submission deadline

February 25, 2018, Acceptance/rejection notification

March 10, 2018, Final paper submission and author registration deadline

May 05, 2018, Registration deadline


Fees: The participation fees of MECO and ECYPS are low to encourage participation of young scientists and colleagues from developing countries.


Conference Chairs:

Lech Jóźwiak, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands

Radovan Stojanović, University of Montenego, Montenegro


Scientific Committee:

Koen Bertels, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands

Zlatan Car, University of Rijeka, Croatia

Victor Goulart, Kyushu University, Japan

Yervant Zorian. Synopsys, USA

Miguel Figueroa, University of Concepcion, Chile

Roberto Giorgi, University of Siena, Italy

Erwin Grosspietsch, Euromicro, Germany

Ilker Hamzaoglu, Sabanci University, Turkey

Lech Jóźwiak, EUT, Netherlands

Paris Kitsos, Open Hellenic University, Patras, Greece

Akash Kumar, National Univ. Singapore, Singapore

Francesco Leporati, University of Pavia, Italy

Menno Lindwer, Intel, Netherlands

Jan Madsen, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark

Veljko Milutinovic, University of Belgrade, Serbia

Nadia Nedjah, State University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Smail Niar, University of Valenciennes, France

Horácio .C Neto, Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal

Jari Nurmi, Tampere University of Technology, Finland

Alex Orailoglu, University of California at San Diego, USA

Sri Parameswaran, UNSW, Australia

Adam Postula, University of Queensland, Australia

Peter Puschner, Vienna Univ. of Technology, Austria

Davide Quaglia, University of Verona, Italy

Majid Sarrafzadeh, UCLA, California, USA

Karolj Skala, Ruđer Bošković Institute, Croatia

Radovan Stojanović, University of Montenegro, Montenegro

Ioannis Sourdis, Chalmers Univ. of Technology, Sweden

Alice M. Tokarnia, State University of Campinas, Brazil

Heinrich Vierhaus, Brandenburg Uni. of Technology, Germany

Eugenio Villar, University of Cantabria, Spain

Arda Yurdakul, Bogazici University, Turkey

Andrej Žemva, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia


Local Organizing Committee:

Budimir Lutovac, University of Montenegro, Chair

Dmitry Tarasov, MANT, Montenegro, Co-Chair

Marko Kaludjerović, MANT, Montenegro