Acting Director in Advanced Membrane Technology Research Centre (AMTEC),Universiti Teknologi Malaysia

Associate Professor, Department of Energy Engineering,
Universiti Teknologi Malaysia.

Associate Professor Dr. Juhana Jaafar graduated with a B.Eng. (Chemical Engineering)  from Universiti Teknologi Malaysia in 2004. She was then granted with National Science Fellowship under Ministry of Higher Education (MOHE) to pursue her M.Sc. in (Gas Engineering) in Universiti Teknologi Malaysia. In 2011, she graduated with a Ph.D. in Gas Engineering from the same university specializing in Membrane Technology for Direct Methanol fuel Cell Application. She started her academic career at UTM in 2007 right after graduated her M.Sc. Currently she is the Associate Professor in the School of Chemical and Energy Engineering, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia. She is also the Acting Director of Advanced Membrane Technology Research Centre (AMTEC), a Higher Institute Centre of Excellent (HICOE) rewarded by the Ministry of Education Malaysia. Her outstanding outputs in research were evident from her receiving distinguished awards at National and International levels including the Grand Award in Seoul International Invention Fair (SIIF 2019), Gold Medal at International Invention, Innovation and Design Johor 2017 (IIIDJ 2017), Most Distinguished Award, Best of the Best and Gold Award at Higher Education International Conference, and Innovation Expo of Institute of Higher Education (PECIPTA2013), Best of the Best awards at the Malaysian Technology Expo (MTE2008) and Double Gold Medal in British Invention Show (BIS2008). Her outstanding achievements have been publicized in mass media such as Malaysia Hari Ini, Berita Harian, Utusan Malaysia, The Star and Harian Metro. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Juhana is also active in writing for scientific publication in high impact factor in international and national journals. To date, she has published more than 275 papers in ISI- indexed journals with H-index of 43. She is also the author of an original book entitled Elektrolit Pepejal Sel Bahan Api published by Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka. In addition, she is the editor of the edited book Nanofiber Membranes for Medical, Environmental and Energy Applications under the CRC publisher. She is one of the Editorial Board Members of Journal of Applied Membrane Science & Technology (JAMST) and also the co-editor of the special issue on Progress on Fuel Cell Technology: Materials and Components in the Journal of Membrane Science and Research (JMSR). She also has been invited as the editor for several numbers of special issues in National and International journals. Until now, she already led 30 research grants and being member of more than 100 research projects that worth more than 15 mil Ringgit Malaysia. In term of supervision, currently she has 19 PhD and 18 Masters including National and International students. 25 postgraduate students (13 PhD, 12 Masters) have been graduated under her supervision since 2012. She has also supervised several numbers of internship students from Malaysia, Russia, Indonesia, Japan, India and Thailand. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Juhana has received several recognition at National and International level. Recently, she has been rewarded a Regional Conference Grant 2020 from AUNSEED-Net for organizing the Regional Congress of Membrane Technology 2020 & Regional Conference on Environmental Engineering 2020 (RCOM2020&RCENVE2020) in which she was the Chairman of the conference. She also received the AUNSEED Alumni Mobility Grant 2020 from AUNSEED-Net. In 2017, she obtained the fellowship from Meiji University, Japan under the Invited Scholar International Exchange Program. She also received a scholarship from AUNSEED-Net for Short-term Research Program in Japan and Short-term visit program in ASEAN country. She has recently selected as the Affiliate Member of Young Scientist Network- Academy Science Malaysia (YSN-ASM) and Associate of Academy Science Malaysia. She is currently the co-secretary of MyMembrane Society. Owing to her outstanding achievement in teaching and research, she has been selected as the first twenty of UTMShine recipients for the year of 2016 and still the member until present. She has also been listed in Who’s Who in the World for the 33 rd Edition 2016.