Suhairul Hashim has obtained his B.Sc. (Hons) in Nuclear Science from Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) in 2001 and M.Sc. in Medical Physics from University of Surrey, UK (2005). In March 2009, he completed his Ph.D. at the Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM). He was awarded a Research/Postdoctoral Fellowship at the Centre for Nuclear and Radiation Physics, University of Surrey, U.K., after completing his Ph.D. research funded by Kansas State University, USA and UTM. Supported by Kansas State University, USA, and UTM (from 1 May 2009 to 16 October 2010). He served as a physicist for one year at the Oncology Centre, Sultan Ismail Hospital, Johor Bahru (July 2013 – June 2014).

He is currently an Associate Professor at Physics Department, Faculty of Science, UTM and Deputy Director (Radiation and Biosafety), Occupational Safety, Health and Environment (OSHE) Office of UTM. He was incharged of any activity related to radiation and biosafety in UTM in terms of their planning, implementation, inspection, auditing, accidents investigation, coordinations, monitoring, dissemination of knowledge, training and promotions.

He has taught undergraduate subjects such as Nuclear Physics, Radiotherapy, Radiation Detection & Dosimetry, Biophysics, Modern Physics and Physics II: Electric & Magnet. In addition to teaching, 25 PhD students (18 graduates), 13 MSc students (12 graduates) and over 20 undergraduate research students were also supervised/co-supervised by him. All students under my supervision are encouraged to publish in journals, book chapters and research monographs and attended the conferences. 

To date, he has a h-index of 20 (137 documents with 1408 citations) consists of 111 international journals (with impact factor ranging from 0.2 to 5.878), 3 book chapter, 1 book, 1 encyclopedia of Medical Physics, 27 conference proceedings (international & national proceedings). He has reviewed more than 50 international journal papers, mostly in Q1 & Q2 (Journal of Alloys and Compounds, Radiation Physics and Chemistry, Applied Radiation and Isotopes, Materials & Design, Nuclear Science and Techniques, Chinese Chemical Letters etc.) from reputable and well-established publisher i.e. Elsevier. He was appointed to the Editorial Board of Heliyon on the basis of the excellent track record of publishing the aforementioned journals; the Open Access Journal published by Elsevier Limited began on 27 May 2015 until 30 June 2019 (4 years). He was recently offered to play more senior role i.e. Associate Editor for Nuclear/Medical physics in supporting Physics research community by serving new subject section:Heliyon Physics in Heliyon journal. I am also appointed as an Editor of Malaysian Journal of Fundamental & Applied Sciences (MJFAS) Journal, a refereed research journal published by Penerbit UTM Press, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia. The MJFAS is now entering its thirteen year and it is now the official journal of the Indonesia-Malaysia Research Consortium (I’M Research Consortium). The goal of the consortium is to encourage the advancement of the field through a cross-disciplinary approach and to achieve consensus in the fields of fundamental and applied sciences of common interest.

He was involved as a researcher/project leader for various research grants such as King Abdulaziz City for Science and Technology 2011 Research Grant (2012 to 2015), University Malaya High Impact Research (HIR) MOHE Grant (2012 to 2015), FRGS grant (2007 to 2015), E-science fund grant (2011-2013), UTM grant (2011-2018) and Scientific Advancement Fund Allocation (SAGA, 2006-2008). The total allocation of the research projects worth about RM 10 million. He conducted several consultation projects such as radiological safety compliance by Lynas (M) Sdn. Bhd., King Abdulaziz City for Science and Technology 2011 Research Grant and University Malaya High Impact Research (HIR) MOHE Grant. Some of his achievements are winning the Gold Medal in Invention & Innovation Awards, Malaysia Technology Expo 2014 organized by Malaysian Association of Research Scientists (MARS) with research project entitled, ‘Accurate Radiation Capturing Glass’. I also won Bronze Medal in Nuclear Malaysia Innovation Day organized by Ministry of Science and Technology (MOSTI) 2011, with research project entitled, ‘Triage categories for vulnerable groups using system dynamic simulation modelling.‘ He was one of the UTMSHINE recipients as one of UTM strategy for harnessing and inspiring top notch scientist & researchers. He served as an Affiliate Member of Young Scientists Network- Academy of Sciences Malaysia (YSN-ASM). YSN-ASM is an organization at the core of the binding force that provides gravitational pull, unifying everything and everyone under the ASM umbrella in addressing the national science and technology agenda. I have recently won a prestigious award from the Academy of Sciences Malaysia as a Top Research Scientist Malaysia in 2020. Perhaps, it was the start of an outstanding academic and research career with significant contributions to the fields of nuclear science/technology and its application to TL/OSL dosimetry, radiation dosimeters and material science over the past 15 years.

He has delivered a number of keynote and invited speeches in USIM, UiTM, Ministry of Health, Malaysia Atomic Energy Licensing Board and Malaysia Nuclear Agency. His current research interests include radiation physics, material sciences, medical physics and radiation dosimeters. For the last ten years, he is working on the development of TL dosimeters. This has lead to highly encouraging results for optical fibres and borate glass samples to be used in radiation dosimetry fields. He is a member of Nuclear and Radiation Physics Research Group under Resource Sustainability Research Alliance, UTM. My professional affiliations include a member of International Society of Radiation Physics (ISRP), Health Physics Society (HPS), Institute of Physics (IOP), IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society, Malaysian Solid State Science and Technology Society (MASS), Institut Fizik Malaysia (Malaysian Institute of Physics), Malaysian Nuclear Society (MNS) and Malaysian Association of Medical Physics (MAMP).

Last update: 20 March 2021